Kyle Lajeunesse

Kyle Lajeunesse …A College Academic Success Story


Men’s Hockey Lands 18 on All-Academic Team

UTICA, NY- The Utica College men’s hockey team placed 18 players on the 2016-17 ECAC West Conference All-Academic Team, released Friday.

A total of 103 student-athletes from seven schools earned academic recognition earned All-Academic recognition. In order to be eligible for the league’s All-Academic Team, student-athletes must carry a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, and have completed at least one full year at their current institution.

Utica’s representatives were: Max Bartell (Rome, NY/Walpole (EHL)), Luc Boby (Chicago, IL/Kalamazoo (NAHL)), Zach Borsoi (Brossard, Quebec/Gloucester (CCHL)), Alex Brissette (Atlanta, GA/Hampton Roads (USPHL)), Mikhail Bushinski (Woodbury, MN/Kenai River (NAHL)), Dalton Carter (Toledo, OH/Northern Cyclones (EHL)), Justin Derlago (Winnipeg, Manitoba/Selkirk (MJHL)), Riley Egan (Lakewood, OH/Philadelphia (EHL)), Kevin Kirisits (Buffalo, NY/Brockville (CCHL)), Kyle Lajeunesse (South Berwick, ME/New Hampshire (EHL)), Shawn Lynch (Syracuse, NY/Ottawa Jr. Senators (CCHL)), Anthony McVeigh (Kemptville, Ontario/Carleton Place (CCHL)), Easton Powers (South Lyon, MI/Port Huron (NAHL)), Kollin Schultz (Buffalo, NY/Bay State (USPHL)), Cory Simic (Whitby, Ontario/Smith Falls (CCHL)), Vince Stefan (Pittsburgh, PA/Kenai River (NAHL)), Brett Szajner (Novi, MI/Amarillo (NAHL)), and Kevin Valenti (Queensbury, NY/Northern Cyclones (EHL)).

The Pioneers wrapped up the season with an 18-9 overall record. Utica won its third regular season conference title in the last five years and the Pioneers advanced to the championship game for the third time in four years.  UC lost in overtime of the conference championship to Hobart College.